Search {{ cartData.cartQty }}Cart
This item was put in your shopping cart
{{ cartItem_justAdded.brandName }} {{ cartItem_justAdded.productName }} {{ cartItem_justAdded.option }} {{ kitPart.qty }} pcs {{ }}
{{ cartItem_justAdded.priceFormatted }}
Shopping cart
Your shopping cart is empty
{{ cartSection.headerData.headline }}
{{ cartItem.brandName }} {{ cartItem.productName }} {{ cartItem.option }} {{ kitPart.qty }} pcs {{ }}
{{ cartItem.priceFormatted }}
Products: {{ cartData.cartAmont }}

ALICE COOPER's 'DaDa' album turns 40, released on September 28th 1983

Alice Cooper Dada album



'DaDa' was ALICE COOPER's 8th studio album, released on September 28th 1983.


The 'DaDa' cover was based on a painting by the Spanish surrealist artist Salvador Dalí titled "Slave Market" (with appearance of the invisible bust of Voltaire).


'DadDa' marked the end of Alice's so-called 'blackout era'. After this release, Alice parted way with Warner Brothers and made a second, ultimately successful effort to kick his addictions, save his marriage and get his life together. He would vanish for three years and then eventually re-emerge with 'Constrictor' in 1986 as a heavy metal pastiche of the 1970s Alice - the old make-up back, the guitars and drums pumped up, the record sales steadily increasing and the live shows slicker than ever. 

Here are 7 interesting facts about Alice Cooper's 'Dada' album:


1. Concept Album: "Dada" is a concept album that explores the themes of insanity and the human mind, inspired by the Dadaist art movement, which aimed to challenge societal norms and conventions.


2. Return to Horror Themes: After a period of experimenting with different musical styles, "Dada" marked a return to the horror-themed theatricality that Alice Cooper was known for in his earlier career.


3. Unique Album Cover: The album cover featured a torn, distorted image of Alice Cooper's face, which was meant to reflect the album's theme of mental instability. It's a departure from his previous album covers.


4. Experimental Sound: The album's sound was notably more experimental, featuring elements of new wave and post-punk, which was a departure from Cooper's earlier hard rock and glam rock style.


5. Obscure Tracks: Some of the tracks on "Dada" are quite obscure and unconventional, such as "No Man's Land," which features a distorted vocal style and eerie instrumentation.


6. Re-Evaluation Over Time: While it wasn't a commercial hit upon its release, "Dada" has gained a cult following over the years, with some fans and critics considering it an underrated gem in Alice Cooper's discography.


7. Live Performances: Although "Dada" didn't produce any major hits, some of its tracks have made appearances in Alice Cooper's live shows, demonstrating their enduring appeal to his fan base.

These facts shed some interesting light on the unique and somewhat overlooked aspects of Alice Cooper's 'Dada' album.


Album tracklisting:


Side A

A1        Dada
A2        Enough's Enough
A3        Former Lee Warmer
A4        No Man's Land
A5        Dyslexia


Side B

B1        Scarlet And Sheba
B2        I Love America
B3        Fresh Blood
B4        Pass The Gun Around


Recording line-up:


Vocals - Alice Cooper 
Additional Vocals - Karen Hendricks, Lisa Dal Bello
Guitar, Bass, Vocals - Dick Wagner
Drums - John Anderson (B3), Richard Kolinka (A3, B1, B4)
Bass - John Prakash
Synthesizer (Fairlight Cmi), Keyboards, Drums, Percussion, Vocals - Bob Ezrin
Synthesizer (Obx-8, Roland Jupiter), Vocals - Graham Shaw




Short interview with producer Bob Ezrin about the making of the album:



{{ message }}


We use cookies to give you access to functions that makes it easier to use this webbsite. By proceeding, you approve that we use cookies.